Home > art > Ceci n’est pas une pomme

Ceci n’est pas une pomme

Everyone’s favourite little bit of surrealism.

ceci n'est pas une pomme by Rene MagritteI came across this picture when I was at college. Magritte inviting us to reconsider what we take to be real, making a distinction between the representation and the object, pulling aside the veil to reveal the elements and structure of what surrounds us.

I was so taken by this picture that I got an apple, wrote ‘Ceci n’est pas une pomme aussi’ on a piece of paper, fixed the apple to it and photographed it, to recreate the message in the medium of film. Sadly, I couldn’t get the depth of field quite right so my lecturer was spared my misguided attempts at profundity.

I understand that ‘Ceci n’est pas une pipe’ may be slightly better know than its fruity counterpart but ‘pomme’ will always have a special place in my heart – and I think it’s a better/nicer painting. I also love the sound of this sentence in French.

Categories: art
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

